Social Justice

    Social Justice Committee Goals

    Advocate for the hiring of Black staff, faculty, and accepting students as well as their retention and advancement to positions of leadership at UCSF

    Support Black-led organizations in the San Francisco Bay Area

    Develop and implement protocols to guide strategic partnerships

    Educate and empower Black staff, faculty, and students through forums, symposia, and resources


    Current Social Justice Committee (2021-2022) - View List




    Supporting the SF Bay Area Community

    (with $1000 donations and ongoing engagement)


    2021 Partnering Organizations

     2022 Partnering Organizations


    Filing a Complaint Tip Sheet

    Filing a Complaint Tip Sheet

    Filing a Complaint Tip Sheet (PDF)


     Walking Alone...The BLAC Experience

    The UCSF Memory and Aging Center’s Black Leadership Advisory Council (BLAC) presents “Walking Alone...The BLAC Experience.” In response to the killing of George Floyd, along with various other social injustices impacting marginalized communities of color, BLAC was established to create a safe space for the Black community at UCSF’s Memory and Aging Center (MAC) to process direct social justice issues, help fight racism and better support the Black community. BLAC elevates matters related to diversity, equity, and inclusion and serves as an advisory council for the MAC’s executive leadership. Black Caucus member Fonda Smith's skilled guidance led to the creation of this video.





    Resources - icons representing resources (hands uplifitng people, people in building, magnifying glass, etc) surrounding a question lightbulb icon, icons overlayed onto Black literature tinted in blue.




    Conflict Coaching & Mediation


    Office of the Ombuds
    A resource for all members of the UCSF community offering a safe, confidential place to discuss UCSF-related issues and explore possibilities for informally addressing concerns.

    Office of the Prevention of Harrassment & Discrimination (OPHD)
    - File a Complaint

    Benioff Children's Hospital, Oakland - Reporting Your concerns


    Wellness & Mental Health

    UCSF Wellness Resources

    Emotional Wellbeing - Coping Resources (Psychiatry)